1 down and many more to go.

Since Jen and I have been married, which is for about 8.5 years now, I’ve been the one that has done most of the cooking. I’ve always found cooking as a way to relax. It’s just the ingredients, some heat, and me. No pressure of work, no pressure from the family. I don’t have to be ‘on’. I can just cook. I find the time in the kitchen relaxing, therapeutic, and a way to get out of or to work through things that are in my head.

Tonight was the first night that I cooked a recipe from Rick Bayless’s Everyday Mexican. I made Swiss Chard Tacos with Caramelized Onion, Fresh Cheese and Red Chili.

I have to admit that when I first saw this recipe I thought that was a recipe that was going to end up being pushed back on the list for a couple of months. I mean, come on, tacos made with swiss chard instead of meat. That’s not right. It’s like not having turkey for Thanksgiving, or Hot Dogs at the ballpark. However, as a way to make things equitable, and so I don’t put off doing recipes, I decided to have Jen pick random page numbers and this was the recipe that was on the page. Good thing she picked it too, because this recipe is really good. I can’t wait to start diving in and making more of Mr. Bayless’s recipes.

When this cooking challenge is all said and done one of two things are going to happen: 1.) I’m going to hate Rick Bayless and Mexican food, and will never, ever, eat anything from this culture again, or; 2.) I and the family are going to love doing this. This is going to be a fun couple of months.

 

P.S. Mr. Bayless offers different riffs on his recipes. I’m going to work through his book by making the normal recipe then if I’m able to make a riff, or variation, with the leftovers I’m going to. For instance, he says that you can add tuna to the greens. So, for lunch tomorrow I’m going to do just that.

 

Leave a Reply

