Walther Quote of the Day

But God be praised! We have God’s Word, which does not deceive us, a Word on which we can rely and by which we can remain in the present darkness, which it lights up for us. When death summons us and says, “Come along,” even though we feel nothing, we can follow it confidently and say, “I will gladly go with you. I praise God for my escape from this terrible prison. I am absolutely certain that I will stand before the throne of the gracious God. Why? Not because I a certain feeling, not because I have performed any good works, not because I have become a better person All these things of mine would be sinking sand.” For it is quite possible that in my hour of death I will not have any feelings of gladness. But if you are accustomed to relying on the Word, you have a trusty staff, which you will need as you walk through the dark valley of death.

Law & Gospel: How to Read and Apply the Bible by C. F. W. Walther (A Reader’s Edition) p 169-170

Leave a Reply

