Romans 2:15-16

15. Who as such, point out the work of the law written upon their hearts, their moral conscience also testifies, and between themselves the inward debate accuses them and even defends them. 16. On that day when God judges the secrets of men, according to my Gospel, through Jesus Christ.

If I try to defend away my actions and sins in the light of the Law, who will save me? Who will deliver me from myself and my own polluted sense of self-righteousness and the sins of thought, word, and deed? My Christian heart bears a truthful witness against me to the Father. The Law within me won’t allow me to defend myself because I can’t. I try to defend and write away the evil that I have done, but my heart calls me a liar. What can I do? What can anyone do to save themselves?

Hold fast to Jesus Christ. Luther wrote, “Christ has done enough for me. He is just. He is my defense. He has died for me. He has made His righteousness my righteousness, and my sin His sin. If He has made my sin to be His sin, then I do not have it, and I am free. If He has made His righteousness my righteousness, then I am righteous now with the same righteousness as He. My sin cannot devour Him, but it is engulfed in the unfathomable depths of His righteousness, for He himself is God, who is blessed forever.”

Jesus is greater than all of our sins. “What then shall we say to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things? Who shall bring any charge against God’s elect? It is God who justifies” (Romans 8:31-34). How is this made know? Through the Sacraments and the Word… the Gospel, the true Gospel as proclaimed by Paul and not some false human-centered, flesh pleasing gospel.

Leave a Reply

