Romans 2:1-2

1. Therefore you are without excuse, O man, whomever you are who judge. For in the manner in which you judge each other, you condemn yourselves, because you, the judge, do the same. 2. But we know that the judgment of God is according to the truth upon the ones who are practicing such things.

Paul, after listing the sexual sins, vices, and showing no one as innocent in 1:26-32, has the nerve to call out those of us who judge? Paul’s right of course. We are all without excuse and fail to keep Dt. 6:5-6. We are always hiding  behind our false morality, peaking over our fences to our neighbors houses and yards, casting judgments because they dare harbor and do in the light the same sins that I harbor and do in the darkness of my depraved heart. What miserable sods we be. We, the ones who judge others for holding an inferior view of morality know the verdict of God. We deserve condemnation and death, just like those we judge as inferior, more guilty or, dare I say it, more sinful than we view ourselves.

What hope is there if my morality, my judgments of others can’t save me? What hope do I have if me being less of a sinner than my neighbor won’t save me? If this Law keeping that I try my best to do won’t save me, what will?

Christ Jesus my Lord! Christ the Savior in the manger, on the cross, in the tomb and ascended into heaven to judge the just and unjust. “On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God.” (Ps 62:7) “For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” (2 Cor 5:21)

“My hope is built on nothing less, than Jesus’ blood and righteousness. I dare not trust the sweetest frame, but wholly lean on Jesus’ name.” Edward Mote


 

Leave a Reply

