Walther Quote of the Day

“Scripture testifies, in countless places, that all people without exception are sinners and remain so until their death. Solomon says, ‘Surely there is not a righteous man on earth who does good and never sins’ (Ecclesiastes 7:20). In the Book of Job, it says: ‘What is man, that he should be innocent, or the one born of a woman that he should be righteous?God doesn’t trust His holy ones, and the heavens aren’t pure in His sight’ (Job 15:14, 15 aat). David writes: ‘Who can discern his errors? Declare me innocent from hidden faults’ (Psalm 19:12). John informs us, ‘if we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us’ (1 John 1:8). James writes: ‘For we all stumble in many ways, and if anyone does not stumble in what he says, he is a perfect men’ (3:2). Finally, Paul says: ‘I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out’ (Romans 7:18), and ‘I am not aware of anything against myself, but I am not thereby acquitted’ (1 Corinthians 4:4).”

God Grant It: Daily Devotions from C. F. W. Walther p 269-270

Leave a Reply

