Shopping for house stuff

Yesterday and this afternoon Jen, the kids and I went shopping at Lowe’s and Walmart for some stuff for our new house. In case you didn’t see it, here’s a picture. We bought some paint remover for all of the original molding in the house (built in 1900) that has been painted. We also bought the necessary protective gear. I felt like I was getting ready for my chemistry classes in high school or college again. Buy protective eye gear, the correct gloves, masks, don’t wear open toed shoes when using the chemicals or you might burn a toe off.

Anyways, we also bought a lead test for paint, just to be on the safe side. Finally we bought a carpet cutter and a nice ladder. It’s one of those ladders that can open in like 300 ways… ok, ok. It only opens in like 13 ways, but 300 makes the ladder sound more cooler than it actually is while simultaneously making me sound like less of a dork for being excited about buying a ladder.

After we finished all of the errands, we stopped by the house. I played on the new ladder and opened the attic entrance on the second floor. Jen’s and my suspicions are correct, when we have enough funds we can totally have some stairs built, extra joists installed, flooring laid, dry-walled walls, add some lights, install some duct work and a bathroom. Simple.

The goal is to have that done by when Jen starts home-schooling, so the kids have a place for school, or a play room, or a what-ever-I want-to-use-it-for-room. That would be a nice sized area for a study. Granted, if I was at all serious about that, there would be some serious words from Jen… and I’m sure all of them would be nice, if you catch my drift.

Also, at the house I got to play with the carpet cutter and pulled back some carpeting. Hardwood floors upstairs, that match the downstairs. This week while the guys are doing the work that needs to be done on the house (update electrical, install new HVAC, pour a concrete slab in basement with retaining wall) I’m going to be ripping up carpeting and throwing it in the garbage truck that’ll be at the house. That might be a good way to unwind after a long day.

Haven’t even moved in yet, and I know that I’m going to really love owning this house and living here with Jen and the kids.

2 thoughts on “Shopping for house stuff

Leave a Reply

